Banjo Baby Baboon

Getting aquainted

Way back in March 2012 I met @Kolo_Martin (for Kolo’s webpage – see the link on my BlogRoll) and learned of his bid to re-house as many Baboons as he can via special competitions.

Being a curious cat I Googled “Baboon” and found that they are primate with many of the characteristics of a cat e.g. curious, cheeky, climb trees, enjoy naps etc. So huMum contacted Kolo by DM and asked if we could provide a forever home for a Baboon. Much to our delight Kolo advised that a wee baby Baboon had been dispatched to Australia.

Everyday, excitedly, I checked our mailbox and last week he finally arrived!

Banjo Arrives at Number 31

Those pesky parcels that people from UK use are so difficult for a cat to open so I had to asked huMum for her assistance. “OMC he is so cute” I cried when I first spied Baby Banjo Baboon. Yes we have named him Banjo after the Australian poet Andrew Barton “Banjo” Paterson who is famous for such delights as Waltzing Matilda, The Man from Snowy River and Clancy of the Overflow.

I was a little over-friendly with Banjo on his first night in our home so he has taken up residence on our fridge but every day I greet him with “Morning Banjo” and in return he says “Ah! Ah! Ah!” and asks for another banana.

Thank you Kolo for giving us the chance to adopt Banjo – today we sent my weekly pocket-money to the CARE Baboon Sanctuary in South Africa.

Nap time, bye-bye for now!

Banjo’s home (until I stop the rough play)

7 responses to “Banjo Baby Baboon

  1. Now I wondered what ´s a Baboon, never heard of it, I thought. Wrong, in German it´s a Pavian … pfff, En/Ger words are rarely that different. and the post reminds me that´s there´s still a specific Koala waiting for a name. I will take a rain check if I have found one 🙂

      • uh-oh, don´t blame me, it´s Mum thinking name giving is a serious matter! And we never met such a fussy Koala. We made sooo many proposals, won´t repeat his quite grumpy answers to each *sigh* But he is not that lonely as there´s a tiny cuddly fellow … doesn´t talk much, not sure if he even can

        oh, hold on … is there a muse visiting me? *listen* Koby?

  2. Pingback: Do I look like Paul? « Catonauts

Always be delighted to hear from you, xxx's

